Skip to main content

What is the difference between RD1000 & SAFCA?


Who is SAFCA? 

The Sacramento Area Flood Control Association (SAFCA) was formed by the California State Legislature in 1989 to respond to the Sacramento region’s potential for flood disaster.

Today, SAFCA  is part of a Joint Powers Authority (JPA) in partnership with the City of Sacramento, Reclamation District 1000 (RD1000), American River Flood Control Association (ARFCA), the County of Sutter, and the County of Sacramento.

While SAFCA does not provide direct flood prevention services, the agency does fund, plan and implement flood protection systems like the Natomas Levee Improvement Project (NLIP) and regional flood disaster mitigation projects.

Who is RD1000? 

Reclamation District No. 1000 (RD1000) is a special district formed in 1911 by an act of legislation to provide flood protection to the Natomas Basin.

RD1000 provides flood protection by specifically focusing its efforts on maintaining levees and its various pumping plants and drainage canals. RD1000 is constantly working to upgrade its seven pumping plants and the drainage systems that feed them.

RD1000 works closely with various public entities such as the US Army Corps of Engineers and SAFCA to plan and carry out upgrades to the levee system.

What are the differences between RD1000 & SAFCA 

Both RD1000 and SAFCA are public agencies formed by an act of the CA State Legislature to mitigate flood risks within the region, while RD1000’s boundaries are strictly confined to the Natomas Basin, SAFCA provides flood prevention support throughout the greater Sacramento Region.

RD1000 is a local maintaining agency (LMA) that works directly to maintain the levees, interior drainage facilities, and other infrastructure within their boundaries. SAFCA works with LMAs, they do not provide direct flood protection services, however, they do fund, plan, and implement large flood disaster projects, including the Natomas Levee Improvement Project.